	NAME & TITLE	LISA MCNEILLY, SUSTAINABILITY DIRECTOR	CITY of	
	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING 8 TH FLOOR, 417 EAST FAYETTE	BALTIMORE STREET	CITY Q
	SUBJECT	CITY COUNCIL BILL #21-0159 / ZERO-EMISSION VEHICLES	MEMU	1797
			DATE:	

January 3, 2022

The Honorable President and Members of the City Council City Hall, Room 400 100 North Holliday Street

TO

The Office of Sustainability is in receipt of City Council Bill #21-0159, which is for the purpose of converting the City fleet of vehicles, subject to certain exceptions, to zero-emission vehicles; defining certain terms; authorizing rules and regulations; and generally related to the City's procurement of vehicles.

The 2019 Sustainability Plan (formally adopted by the Planning Commission on April 22, 2019) addresses improvements in transportation emissions and actions to respond to the threats of climate change in multiple chapters. Specifically, the Plan includes relevant actions in the

Strategy #2. Speed the path to decarbonization through increased deployment of renewable energy and electric vehicles.

- Action 3: Increase electric vehicle adoption.
- Action 4: Adopt a goal for electric vehicle charging stations.

Strategy #3. Support and deploy innovative technologies and programs to reduce energy use in buildings and transportation.

• Action 5: Set a goal to reduce petroleum consumption and increase use of alternative fuel vehicles and equipment in the city government fleet.

The Office of Sustainability recommends approval of City Council Bill #21-0159, as transportation contributes to 30 percent of greenhouse gas emissions. A commitment to increase the procurement of zero-emission vehicles supports air quality and climate goals for the city but will require additional charging station infrastructure to be successful.

cc: Ms. Natasha Mehu, Mayor's Office

Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office
The Honorable Eric Costello, Council Rep. to Planning Commission
Mr. Matthew Stegman, City Council President's Office
Ms. Nikki Thompson, City Council President's Office
Ms. Elena DiPietro, Law Dept.
Ms. Natawna Austin, Council Services
Mr. Chris Ryer
Ms. Ava Richardson