THE REAL PROPERTY.		lien O. M.	Willy
5	NAME & TITLE	LISA MCNEILLY, SUSTAINABILITY DIRECTOR	CIT
0 2	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING 417 EAST FAYETTE STREET 8 th FLOOR	E
L	SUBJECT	CITY COUNCIL BILL #21-0075R GLOBAL WARMING SOLUTIONS – CARBON	"

EITY of
BALTIMORE
MEMO



TO The Honorable President and Members of the City Council City Hall, Room 400 100 North Holliday Street January 14, 2022

The Office of Sustainability is in receipt of City Council Bill #21-0075R, which is for the purpose of calling on the Mayor, the Baltimore City Council, the Baltimore City Administrator, the Baltimore Office of Sustainability, and the Baltimore Commission on Sustainability to take all necessary actions to make Baltimore a carbon neutral city by 2050.

The 2019 Sustainability Plan (formally adopted by the Planning Commission on April 22, 2019) addresses climate change in multiple chapters, including one dedicated to "Greenhouse Gas Emissions." Specifically, the Plan includes two actions related to this bill:

Strategy #1. Improve efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Action 1: Update the Climate Action Plan by 2020, using an equity lens.

Strategy #3. Create new programs to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Action 2: Commit to being a "Carbon Neutral City."

As part of the process to update the Climate Action Plan, the Office of Sustainability has set community engagement goals: to build local climate awareness and empower residents around climate issues, focus on emission reduction strategies that address climate inequities, create a deliverable that is accessible and useful to all city stakeholders, and evaluate new and ambitious GHG reductions targets.

The Office looks forward to sharing more information with the Committee on its work to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, set new targets, and engage the community about priorities, actions, and goals.

cc: Ms. Natasha Mehu, Mayor's Office

Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office

Mr. Matt Stegman, City Council President's Office

Ms. Nikki Thompson, City Council President's Office

Ms. Natawna Austin. Council Services

Mr. Matthew Peters, Council Services

Ms. Hilary Ruley, Department of Law

Mr. Chris Ryer, Department of Planning

Ms. Ava Richardson, Department of Planning