CITY OF BALTIMORE

BRANDON M. SCOTT, Mayor



OFFICE OF COUNCIL SERVICES

LARRY E. GREENE, Director 415 City Hall, 100 N. Holliday Street Baltimore, Maryland 21202 410-396-7215 / Fax: 410-545-7596 email: larry.greene@baltimorecity.gov

BILL SYNOPSIS

Committee: Economic and Community Development

Bill: 21-0165

South Baltimore Gateway Community Impact District and Management Authority

Councilmember Costello Sponsor: Introduced: October 18, 2021

Purpose:

For the purpose of reviewing the South Baltimore Gateway Community Impact District and Management Authority and renewing the South Baltimore Gateway Community Impact District and Management Authority if the Council finds that District and the Management Authority are effective and should continue; and providing for a special effective date.

Effective: The date it is enacted.

Agency Reports

City Solicitor	Favorable
City Administrator	
Department of Finance	Not Opposed

Analysis

Background

Baltimore adopted the South Baltimore Gateway Master Plan in 2015. The purpose of the plan was to improve neighborhoods near the Horseshoe Casino. The City implemented the plan with



the advice of the Local Development Council (LDC). Funding was provided by the local impact grants generated by video lottery terminals.

According to the Maryland Manual, effective June 1, 2016, the General Assembly authorized the Baltimore Mayor and City Council to establish the *South Baltimore Gateway Community Impact District Management Authority by City ordinance (Chapter 314, Acts of 2016, Bill 16-509).* The Authority is neither an agency of the Baltimore Mayor and City Council nor of State Government.

The Authority's charge is to promote and market the South Baltimore Gateway Community Impact District, provide supplemental security and maintenance services, provide amenities in public areas, provide park and recreational programs and functions, and after the Authority is established, other services and functions as requested by the Authority and approved through an ordinance by the Mayor and City Council.

Properties in the Barre Circle, Carroll Park, Carroll–Camden Industrial Area, Cherry Hill, Federal Hill, Lakeland, Middle Branch/Reedbird Parks, Mount Winans, Otterbein, Pigtown/Washington Village, Ridgely's Delight, Riverside, Saint Paul, South Baltimore, Stadium Area, Spring Garden Industrial Area, and Westport Neighborhood Statistical Areas according to the 2011 Neighborhood Statistical Areas Map lie within the South Baltimore Gateway Community Impact District are

The Authority's Board of Directors consists of twenty-one members, the majority of whom are residents of the South Baltimore Gateway Community Impact District. Four members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates, and two are chosen by the State Senators representing Legislative Election Districts 40 and 46. The Baltimore City Council President appoints two members, and the Mayor appoints one. Appointed members serve two-year terms. Those twelve members of the Local [Video Lottery] Development Council who are not elected officials serve as ex officio members of the Board, at least until December 31, 2018.

According to the Maryland Manual (copyright March 9, 2020) the following appointments have been made.

Geoffrey W. Washington, Chair and Brad Rogers, Chief Executive Officer

Appointed by House Speaker to 2-year terms: Deborah T. Ally-Dickerson; Walter H. Ettinger, M.D.; Phylicia Porter; Michael Tyson.

Appointed by State Senators representing Legislative Election Districts 40 & 46 to 2-year terms: Acacia Asbell; Geoffrey W. Washington.

Appointed by Baltimore Mayor to 2-year terms: Colin D. Tarbert

Appointed by Baltimore City Council President to 2-year terms: Eric T. Costello; Bernard C. (Jack) Young.

Ex officio (those Baltimore City Local [Video Lottery] Development Council members who are not elected officials): Keisha Allen; Leonard Bush; Andrew P. Gervase; Jacqueline Grace-Pope; Rev. Alvin J. Gwynn, Sr.; Aparna Jain, Ph.D.; Jill Johnson; Alvin Lee; Karl M. Lowe; William J. Reuter; Wayne Vance; Elizabeth Whitmer.

Additional Information

Fiscal Note: Not Available

Information Source(s): State of Maryland Manual, Bill 21-083R, Presentation (Attached)

Analysis by: Jennifer L. Coates

Direct Inquiries to: 410-396-1260

Analysis Date: January 27, 2020