7	NAME & TITLE	CHRIS RYER, DIRECTOR	
20 2	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING 8 TH FLOOR, 417 EAST FAYETTE STREET	
Ŀ	SUBJECT	CITY COUNCIL BILL #22-0193/ REAL PROPERTY TAX CREDIT FOR ENERGY CONSERVATION DEVICES	



March 7, 2022

DATE:



The Honorable President and Members of the City Council City Hall, Room 400 100 North Holliday Street

Position: Support

The Department of Planning is in receipt of City Council Bill #22-0193, which is for the purpose of granting a tax credit against the City real property tax imposed on a dwelling that uses a solar energy device or geothermal energy device; imposing certain qualifications for credit eligibility; providing for the amount and the administration of the credit; creating an annual limit on the

The Department of Planning recommends approval of City Council Bill #22-0193, as it enhances financial incentives for renewable energy, and supports more sustainable energy options to help meet greenhouse gas reduction targets set for Baltimore City. Solar energy devices can increase home values by up to \$15,000, according to the U.S. Department of Energy. Residents and homeowners can also save thousands of dollars on annual energy costs. The incentives in this bill provide economic development opportunities, spurring local economic activity in the city.

amount of credits granted; requiring an annual report regarding the credit; and defining certain

The Department of Planning respectfully requests a favorable report on City Council Bill #22-0193 as it aligns with renewable energy goals outlined in the 2019 Sustainability Plan and the citywide goal to reach carbon neutrality by 2045.

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Eric Tiso, Division Chief, Land Use and Urban Design Division at 410-396-8358.

CR/ewt

terms.

Ms. Natasha Mehu, Mayor's Office cc:

Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office

The Honorable Eric Costello, Council Rep. to Planning Commission

Mr. Matthew Stegman, City Council President's Office

Ms. Nikki Thompson, City Council President's Office

Mr. Colin Tarbert, BDC

Ms. Kathleen Byrne, BMZA

Mr. Geoffrey Veale, Zoning Administration

Ms. Stephanie Murdock, DHCD

Ms. Elena DiPietro, Law Dept.

Mr. Francis Burnszynski, PABC

Mr. Liam Davis, DOT

Ms. Natawna Austin, Council Services