CONTRACTOR OF THE PERSON OF TH	7	NAME & TITLE	CHRIS RYER, DIRECTOR	CIT
The state of the s	0	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING 417 EAST FAYETTE STREET, 8 TH FLOOR,	E
	L	SUBJECT	CITY COUNCIL BILL #20-0209/ SALE OF PROPERTY-620 CAROLINE STREET	



April 1, 2022

DATE:

1 , 1

The Honorable President and Members of the City Council City Hall, Room 400 100 North Holliday Street

City Council Bill #20-0209 was referred to the Department of Planning for a bill report. The purpose of City Council Bill #20-0209 is to authorize the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore to sell, at either public or private sale, all its interest in certain property that is located at 620 North Caroline Street (Block 1280, Lot 003). The property contains approximately 1.507 acres and is improved by a former medical office building, which contains approximately 28,972 square feet. The site is currently unoccupied. It was the former location of the Baltimore City Eastern Health Clinic which has been relocated to 1200 East Fayette Street.

The Department of Planning recommends that City Council find that 620 North Caroline Street be deemed no longer needed for public use and the City Council Bill #20-0209/ Sale of City Property- 620 North Caroline be approved. The redevelopment of 620 North Caroline will be in support of the Perkins Somerset Oldtown Redevelopment and is included in the Tax Increment Financing (TIF) District. This site is also included in a Memorandum of Understanding that would allow the City of Baltimore to dispose of the property to the Housing Authority of Baltimore City (HABC) who would in turn convey the property to the intended developer of the site, a partnership between Beatty Development and Cross Street Partners. The developer is proposing to redevelop the former medical building into a bio-science wet laboratory.

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Eric Tiso, Division Chief, Land Use and Urban Design Division at 410-396-8358.

CR/ewt

cc: Ms. Natasha Mehu, Mayor's Office

Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office

Mr. Ethan Cohen, Mayor's Office

The Honorable Eric Costello, Council Rep. to Planning Commission

Mr. Matthew Stegman, City Council President's Office

Ms. Nikki Thompson, City Council President's Office

Mr. Colin Tarbert, BDC

Ms. Kathleen Byrne, BMZA

Mr. Geoffrey Veale, Zoning Administration

Ms. Janet Abrahams, Housing Authority of Baltimore City

Ms. Stephanie Murdock, DHCD

Ms. Elena DiPietro, Law Dept.

Mr. Francis Burnszynski, PABC

Mr. Liam Davis, DOT

Ms. Natawna Austin, Council Services

Mr. Tim Pula, Beatty Development

Mr. Sam Bohmfalk, Cross Street Partners