CITY OF BALTIMORE

BERNARD C. "JACK" YOUNG Mayor



DEPARTMENT OF LAW Dana P. Moore, Acting City Solicitor 100 N. Holliday Street Suite 101, City Hall Baltimore, MD 21202

June 8, 2020

The Honorable President and Members of the Baltimore City Council Attn: Natawna B. Austin, Executive Secretary Room 409, City Hall 100 N. Holliday Street Baltimore, Maryland 21202

Re: City Council Bill 20-0502 - Woodberry Historic District

Dear President and City Council Members:

The Law Department has reviewed City Council Bill 20-0502 for form and legal sufficiency. The bill designates the area located within certain boundaries as the Woodberry Historic District. The bill provides guidance as to application of CHAP standards for existing PUD's, final design approval buildings in PUD and other circumstances in the District. The bill becomes effective upon enactment.

City Code, Article 6, Subtitle 3 establishes the procedures for designating an historic district. Sections 3-1 thru 3-3 require the ordinance designating an historic district to be supported by certain findings of facts and the Commission on Historical and Architectural Preservation ("CHAP") is directed to engage in certain studies supportive of the designation. Section 3-5 requires CHAP, the Planning Commission and other agencies designated by the President to report on the proposed legislation within 100 days of referral. Section 3-6 requires the City Council to provide a public hearing on the bill and directs the manner in which notice of the hearing is to be provided. Section 3-7 allows the City Council to adopt, reject or modify the ordinance, but Section 3-9 directs the City Council to obtain the approval of CHAP if the City Council proposes to amend the district boundary lines.

Assuming the above procedural requirements are met, the Law Department is prepared to approve the bill for form and legal sufficiency.

Sincerely,

Elena DiRetar

Elena R. DiPietro Chief Solicitor

 cc: Dana P. Moore, Acting City Solicitor Matthew Stegman, Mayor's Office of Government Relations Natawna Austin, Executive Secretary Caylin Young, President's Legislative Director Nina Themelis, MOGR Ashlea Brown, Assistant Solicitor Hilary Ruley, Chief Solicitor Victor Tervala, Chief Solicitor