2	NAME & TITLE	Chris Ryer, Director	CITY of	
0	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	// / Hoot Howotto Stroot VIII Hloor	BALTIMORE	O ALIO
ĪL.	SUBJECT	CITY COUNCIL BILL #20-0584 An Ordinance concerning Commission on Sustainability - Officers For the purpose of allowing the appointment of co-chairs for the Commission on Sustainability.	INI E INI U	

The Honorable President and Members of the City Council
City Hall, Room 400
100 North Holliday Street

DATE: September 4, 2020

The Department of Planning is in receipt of City Council Bill #20-0584, which is for the purpose that the Mayor shall appoint one member as Chair of the Commission or may appoint two members as Co-Chairs of the Commission; and providing that the Ordinance takes effect on the 30th day after the date it is enacted.

Creating the role of a co-chair for the Commission on Sustainability provides an opportunity for diversity in a key leadership role. As a large commission, 20 members appointed by the Mayor and one member appointed by the City Council President, having co-chairs offers the ability to divide responsibilities while sharing and growing the governance role. With an active, Commission, such as Sustainability, this can be a great benefit to the city.

The Planning Department recommends that City Council Bill #20-0524 be passed by the City Council.

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Eric Tiso, Division Chief, Land Use and Urban Design Division at 410-396-8358.

CR/ewt

cc: Mr. Nicholas Blendy, Mayor's Office

Mr. Matthew Stegman, Mayor's Office

Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office

Ms. Natawna Austin, Council Services

Mr. Dominic McAlily, Council Services