Σ Ο Ψ Ψ	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	CHRIS RYER, DIRECTOR DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING 8 <sup>TH</sup> FLOOR, 417 EAST FAYETTE STREET CITY COUNCIL BILL #20-0574/ CITY STREETS – OPENING – A 13-FOOT ALLEY	CITY of BALTIMORE <b>MEMO</b>	CITY OF
		The Honorable President and	DATE: October 29, 2	020

The Honorable President and Members of the City Council City Hall, Room 400 100 North Holliday Street

The Department of Planning is in receipt of City Council Bill #20-0574, which is for the purpose of condemning and opening a 13-foot alley, extending from East Biddle Street Northerly 80 feet, to a 20-foot alley laid out in the rear of the properties known as nos. 2000 through 2030 East Biddle Street, as shown on Plat 314-B-16 in the Office of the Department of Transportation; and providing for a special effective date.

The Planning Commission reviewed the associated development of a surface parking lot in their meeting of February 20, 2020, where they recommended approval of the street closing. These surrounding lots will be redeveloped into a surface parking lot that will provide satellite parking in support of the various training programs at the Hoen Building, located at 2101 East Biddle Street. There will be several parking lots in the area serving this purpose. The alleys, as they exist now, are in very poor condition, with broken concrete and weeds growing through the surface. The alley on the north side of the property is beginning to vanish through disuse. The Site Plan Review Committee (SPRC) reviewed and approved the proposed parking lot on August 27, 2019. Upon redevelopment of the property, the alleys will no longer have no purpose to remain, and so the may be formally opened, closed, and sold.

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Eric Tiso, Division Chief, Land Use and Urban Design Division at 410-396-8358.

CR/ewt

cc: Mr. Nicholas Blendy, Mayor's Office Mr. Matthew Stegman, Mayor's Office Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office The Honorable Edward Reisinger, Council Rep. to Planning Commission Mr. Colin Tarbert, BDC Ms. Livhu Ndou, BMZA Mr. Geoffrey Veale, Zoning Administration Ms. Stephanie Murdock, DHCD Ms. Elena DiPietro, Law Dept. Mr. Francis Burnszynski, PABC Mr. Liam Davis, DOT Ms. Natawna Austin, Council Services Mr. Dominic McAlily, Council Services