7	NAME & TITLE	CHRIS RYER, DIRECTOR	C
0	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING 8 TH FLOOR, 417 EAST FAYETTE STREET	
L	SUBJECT	CITY COUNCIL BILL #20-0602/ SALE OF PROPERTY – 4701 GREENSPRING AVENUE AKA FORMER DR. ROLAND PATTERSON SCHOOL #082	



November 5, 2020

DATE:

TO ALL OF THE PROPERTY OF THE

The Honorable President and

Members of the City Council City Hall, Room 400 100 North Holliday Street

The Department of Planning is in receipt of City Council Bill #20-0602, which is for the purpose of authorizing the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore to sell, at either public or private sale, all its interest in certain property located at 4701 Greenspring Avenue aka former Dr. Roland Patterson School # 082 (Block 4760, Lot 001) and no longer needed for public use; and providing for a special effective date.

This property, located in the Coldspring Newtown area, is zoned R-6, and has a large former school building (347,800 sq. ft.) built in 1973 that can be renovated or demolished to create a sizeable redevelopment site. The property sits less than five minutes away from I-83, Sinai Hospital, Jones Falls Trail, and Cylburn Arboretum. The Department of Planning recommends approval of City Council Bill #20-0602, with two caveats;

- 1. The athletic field along Tamarind Road, in the Northeast corner of the property be subdivided from this property and retained by the City under the jurisdiction of Recreation and Parks.
- 2. All financing for re-use of the building is in place and any outstanding debts are paid to City.

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Eric Tiso, Division Chief, Land Use and Urban Design Division at 410-396-8358.

CR/ewt

cc: Mr. Nicholas Blendy, Mayor's Office

Mr. Matthew Stegman, Mayor's Office

Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office

The Honorable Edward Reisinger, Council Rep. to Planning Commission

Mr. Colin Tarbert, BDC

Ms. Livhu Ndou, BMZA

Mr. Geoffrey Veale, Zoning Administration

Ms. Stephanie Murdock, DHCD

Ms. Elena DiPietro, Law Dept.

Mr. Francis Burnszynski, PABC

Mr. Liam Davis, DOT

Ms. Natawna Austin, Council Services

Mr. Dominic McAlily, Council Services