liend MENCilly				
FROM	NAME & TITLE	LISA MCNEILLY, SUSTAINABILITY DIRECTOR	CITY of	
	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING 417 EAST FAYETTE STREET   8 <sup>th</sup> FLOOR	baltimore <b>MEMO</b>	CITY OF
	SUBJECT	CITY COUNCIL BILL #21-0040   FLOODPLAIN MANAGEMENT CODE REVISION		
T	0		DATE:	

The Honorable President and Members of the City Council City Hall, Room 400 100 North Holliday Street

March 15, 2021

The Office of Sustainability is in receipt of City Council Bill #21-0040, which is for the purpose of adopting the preliminary Digital Flood Insurance Rate Maps (DFIRMs) and updating the floodplain management Code listed under Article 7 Division 1 of the Baltimore City Code.

The Baltimore Office of Sustainability (BOS) is tasked with the implementation and enforcement of the City's National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), which is a voluntary program managed by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The benefit of NFIP participation is that the program makes available federally subsidized flood insurance to properties located in member jurisdictions. Mandatory NFIP compliance activities include permit review for projects located in the regulatory floodplain to ensure that proposed designs are compliant with the floodplain Code, collection and storage of elevation certificates and dryfloodproofing certificates, adoption and distribution of DFIRMs, public outreach related to flood awareness and preparedness, among other tasks as required by FEMA.

The City is required to adopt this new DFIRM by June 16, 2021. As part of that approval process, we have also proposed updates to the floodplain policy to ensure that the policy is transparent and clear to the residents of the City of Baltimore and implementable in an older, developed city. The proposed updates also clarify certain requirements, incorporate flexibility to allow for beneficial environmental outcome, and maintain participation in the NFIP.

The Office of Sustainability fully supports City Council Bill #21-0040.

cc: Ms. Natasha Mehu, Mayor's Office
Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office
Mr. Matt Stegman, City Council President's Office
Ms. Nikki Thompson, City Council President's Office
Ms. Natawna Austin, Council Services
Mr. Matthew Peters, Council Services
Ms. Kathleen Byrne, BMZA
Mr. Geoffrey Veale, Zoning Administration
Ms. Stephanie Murdock, DHCD
Mr. Chris Ryer, Department of Planning