П О П	NAME & TITLE	CHRIS RYER, DIRECTOR	
	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING 8 TH FLOOR, 417 EAST FAYETTE STREET	
	SUBJECT	CITY COUNCIL BILL #21-0047R/ UPKEEP AND MAINTENANCE OF VACANT LOTS AND PUBLIC GREEN SPACES	



August 2, 2021

DATE:



TO

The Honorable President and Members of the City Council City Hall, Room 400 100 North Holliday Street

The Department of Planning is in receipt of City Council Bill #21-0047R, which is for the purpose of requesting the Director of the Department of Recreation and Parks, the Director of the Department of Planning, the Director of the Department of Transportation, the Director of the Department of Housing and Community Development, the Head of the Bureau of Solid Waste, the Sustainability Coordinator, a representative from the Office of the Comptroller, and the Chief of the Bureau of Budget and Management Research to report on the annual cumulative total of calls for service for the upkeep and maintenance of vacant lots and green spaces; and recommending to the Administration that a single City agency be charged with the responsibility for mowing all Cityowned lots, parcels, parks, and green spaces.

The Department of Planning recommends disapproval of City Council Bill #21-0047R due to the difficulty for one agency to manage all of the different sites within time schedules that work for those using the spaces and the reduced opportunity for local small businesses to bid and be selected for the maintenance of some and/or all of these green spaces.

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Eric Tiso, Division Chief, Land Use and Urban Design Division at 410-396-8358.

CR/ewt

cc: Ms. Natasha Mehu, Mayor's Office

Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office

The Honorable Eric Costello, Council Rep. to Planning Commission

The Honorable Robert Stokes, Committee Chair

Mr. Matthew Stegman, City Council President's Office

Ms. Nikki Thompson, City Council President's Office

Mr. Colin Tarbert, BDC

Ms. Kathleen Byrne, BMZA

Mr. Geoffrey Veale, Zoning Administration

Ms. Stephanie Murdock, DHCD

Ms. Elena DiPietro, Law Dept.

Mr. Francis Burnszynski, PABC

Mr. Liam Davis, DOT

Ms. Jenny Morgan, BCRP

Ms. Natawna Austin, Council Services

Mr. Dominic McAlily, Council Services