F O R	NAME & TITLE	LISA MCNEILLY, SUSTAINABILITY DIRECTOR	-bowttheve
	AGENCY NAME & ADDRESS	DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING 8 <sup>TH</sup> FLOOR, 417 EAST FAYETTE STREET	
	SUBJECT	CITY COUNCIL BILL #21-0047R/UPKEEP AND MAINTENANCE OF VACANT LOTS AND PUBLIC GREEN SPACES	



TO

The Honorable President and Members of the City Council City Hall, Room 400 100 North Holliday Street DATE:

August 6, 2021

The Office of Sustainability is in receipt of City Council Bill #21-0047R, which requests the Director of the Department of Recreation and Parks, the Director of the Department of Planning, the Director of the Department of Transportation, the Director of the Department of Housing and Community Development, the Head of the Bureau of Solid Waste, the Sustainability Coordinator, a representative from the Office of the Comptroller, and the Chief of the Bureau of Budget and Management Research to report on the annual cumulative total of calls for service for the upkeep and maintenance of vacant lots and green spaces; and recommending to the Administration that a single City agency be charged with the responsibility for mowing all City-owned lots, parcels, parks, and green spaces.

The 2019 Baltimore Sustainability Plan (formally adopted on April 22, 2019) includes strategies and actions to expand city residents' access to green space including parks and community garden, as detailed below:

## Nature for Nature's Sake

Strategy #2: Encourage and increase sustainable land management policies and practices on public and private land, taking into account the context of surrounding neighborhoods and the impacts to residents.

The Office of Sustainability defers to the Department of Planning's recommendation for City Council Bill #21-0047R as the administrative functions detailed of city agencies referenced in the aforementioned bill go beyond the scope of the 2019 Sustainability Plan.

cc: Ms. Natasha Mehu, Mayor's Office

Ms. Nina Themelis, Mayor's Office

Ms. Nikki Thompson, City Council President's Office

Mr. Matthew Stegman, City Council President's Office

Ms. Stephanie Murdock, DHCD

Ms. Marcia Collins, DPW

Mr. Liam Davis, DOT

Ms. Jenny Morgan, BCRP

Ms. Natawna Austin, Council Services

Mr. Dominic McAlily, Council Services

Mr. Chris Ryer, DOP