# City of Baltimore

City Council City Hall, Room 408 100 North Holliday Street Baltimore, Maryland 21202

## **Meeting Minutes - Final**

## Health

Tuesday, December 17, 2019

10:00 AM

Du Burns Council Chamber, 4th floor, City Hall

#### 19-0410

## Reconvened from 11-21-19

CALL TO ORDER

INTRODUCTIONS

**ATTENDANCE** 

4 - Kristerfer Burnett, Mary Pat Clarke, Edward Reisinger, and Isaac "Yitzy" Schleifer

Absent 1 - Bill Henry

## ITEM SCHEDULED FOR PUBLIC HEARING

#### 19-0410 The Baltimore City Trauma-Responsive Care Act

For the purpose of establishing the Trauma-Informed Care Task Force and its members; setting forth certain duties of the Task Force; requiring certain agencies to designate certain individuals to undergo formal training in trauma-informed care and to perform certain other duties related to ensuring that certain agencies are delivering services in a manner consistent with best practices in trauma-informed care; requiring certain agencies to submit periodic progress reports to the Task Force; requiring the Task Force to submit an annual report to the Mayor and City Council regarding the re-orientation of certain city services to focus on trauma-informed care; re-constituting the current Office of Children, Youth, and Families to be the Office of Children and Family Success; making a primary duty of the Office of Children and Family Success to lead a citywide initiative to prioritize the trauma-responsive and trauma-informed delivery of services; defining certain terms; correcting and conforming related provisions; and generally relating to providing trauma-informed services to the citizens of Baltimore.

Sponsors: Zeke Cohen, Mary Pat Clarke, President Brandon M. Scott, Ryan Dorsey, Bill Henry, Kristerfer Burnett, Isaac "Yitzy" Schleifer, Shannon Sneed, John T. Bullock, Danielle McCray, Eric T. Costello, Leon F. Pinkett, III, Robert Stokes, Sr., Edward Reisinger

> A motion was made by Clarke, seconded by Reisinger, that Ordinance 19-0410 be Recommended Favorably with Amendments. The motion carried by the following vote:

4 - Burnett, Clarke, Reisinger, and "Yitzy" Schleifer Yes:

Absent: 1 - Henry

## **ADJOURNMENT**