

# City of Baltimore

City Council City Hall, Room 408 100 North Holliday Street Baltimore, Maryland 21202

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 07-0708 Version: 0 Name: In Honor of Irma Johnson - the National Association

of Elementary School Principals' 2007 Maryland

Distinguished Principal of the Year

Type: Mayor and City Council Res. Status: Enacted

File created: 6/4/2007 In control: City Council

On agenda: Final action: 6/13/2007

Enactment date: Enactment #: 07-027

Title: In Honor of Irma Johnson - the National Association of Elementary School Principals' 2007 Maryland

Distinguished Principal of the Year

FOR the purpose of congratulating Irma Johnson, Principal, Dallas F. Nicholas Elementary School, on being named the 2007 Maryland Distinguished Principal of the Year by the National Association of Elementary School Principals and commending her 32 years of dedicated service to the Baltimore

City Public School System; and providing for a special effective date.

Sponsors: Stephanie President Rawlings-Blake, President Young, Nicholas C. D'Adamo, James B. Kraft, Robert

Curran, Helen L. Holton, Mary Pat Clarke, Edward Reisinger, Belinda Conaway, Sharon Green

Middleton, Agnes Welch, Vernon E. Crider, Keiffer Mitchell

Indexes: Mayor and City Council Resolution, Resolution-Mayor and City Council

**Code sections:** 

**Attachments:** 1. 07-0708 - 1st Reader.pdf, 2. 07-0708 - 3rd Reader.pdf

|   | Date      | Ver. | Action By    | Action                             | Result |
|---|-----------|------|--------------|------------------------------------|--------|
| _ | 6/13/2007 | 0    | Mayor        | Signed by Mayor                    |        |
|   | 6/4/2007  | 0    | City Council | Introduced                         |        |
|   | 6/4/2007  | 0    | City Council | Advanced to 2nd Reader on same day |        |
|   | 6/4/2007  | 0    | City Council | Advanced to 3rd Reader on same day |        |
|   | 6/4/2007  | 0    | City Council | Approved and Sent to the Mayor     |        |

<sup>\*</sup> WARNING: THIS IS AN UNOFFICIAL, INTRODUCTORY COPY OF THE BILL.

THE OFFICIAL COPY CONSIDERED BY THE CITY COUNCIL IS THE FIRST READER COPY.

INTRODUCTORY\*

CITY OF BALTIMORE

**COUNCIL BILL** 

Introduced by: President Rawlings-Blake

#### A RESOLUTION ENTITLED

#### A RESOLUTION OF THE MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL concerning

In Honor of Irma Johnson - the National Association of Elementary School Principals' 2007 Maryland Distinguished Principal of the Year

### File #: 07-0708, Version: 0

FOR the purpose of congratulating Irma Johnson, Principal, Dallas F. Nicholas Elementary School, on being named the 2007 Maryland Distinguished Principal of the Year by the National Association of Elementary School Principals and commending her 32 years of dedicated service to the Baltimore City Public School System; and providing for a special effective date.

Recitals

The National Association of Elementary School Principals, founded in 1921, by a group of 51 principals seeking to promote their profession and to provide a national forum for their ideas, today represents 30,000 elementary and middle school principals who are dedicated to ensuring that all children get the best education possible and has become the most powerful voice of Pre-K- 8 principals across the United States and around the world.

The National Distinguished Principals Program was established in 1984, as an annual event to honor exemplary elementary and middle school principals who set the pace, character, and quality of the education children receive during their early school years. One principal is chosen annually from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia; principals representing private K-8 schools, Department of Defense Dependent's Schools, and the U.S. Department of State Overseas Schools are also eligible.

Public school principals are nominated by peers in their home states, and the final selection for each state's National Distinguished Principal is made by the organization's affiliates, while honorees from private schools and overseas schools are selected by special committees based on the following criteria that the selected principal:

- is an active principal of a school in which a commitment is clearly evident through programs designed to meet the academic and social needs of all students and through firmly established community ties with parents and local business organizations;
- has been an active principal for at least 5 years;
- will be an active principal during the year in which he/she will receive the award;
- shows a strong commitment to the principalship through active membership in professional organizations;
- is respected by students, colleagues, parents, and the community at large;
- assumes an active role in his/her community, distinguishing himself/herself as a leader in civic, religious, or humanitarian activities;
- shows strong educational leadership by setting high expectations for school staff and students;
- · maintains an orderly, purposeful learning environment.

Ms. Irma Johnson began, in 1975, to demonstrate those qualities that ultimately led to her being honored with the Distinguished Principal Award, after receiving her undergraduate degree from the University of Maryland, College Park and beginning her teaching career as a primary special education teacher at George Street Elementary School. She continued her education with a Master's Degree from Coppin State University and is currently a Doctoral Candidate at Nova Southeastern University.

Ms. Johnson credits her life-long love of learning and educating others to a strong family background that emphasized the importance of education as personal wealth "that no one can take away".

File #: 07-0708, Version: 0

SECTION 1. BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL OF BALTIMORE, That this Body hereby congratulates Irma Johnson, Principal, Dallas F. Nicholas Elementary School, on being named the 2007 Maryland Distinguished Principal of the Year by the National Association of Elementary School Principals and commends her 32 years of dedicated service to the Baltimore City Public School System.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be sent to Ms. Irma, Johnson, Principal, Dallas F. Nicholas Elementary School, the CEO of the Baltimore City Public School System, the Secretary of the Maryland State Department of Education, and the President, National Association of Elementary School Principals.

SECTION 3. AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this Resolution takes effect on the date it is enacted.

dlr07-1338~intro/31May07 ccres/NDP/nf

dlr07-1338~intro/31May07 - 2 ccres/NDP/nf